Partnerships

Atelier Meta 2

Marseille
2019

In 2019, the Compagnie Fruitière Fund entered into an association with Atelier Meta 2, an artistic creation venue located at the heart of the Saint-Mauront neighbourhood in Marseille’s 3rd district. As a team of visual artists and artistic animators, Méta 2 has specialised in different approaches to monumental art and design of public spaces, places of passage, non-places, and zones of encounter between passers-by since 1999.

  • Référent Projet

    Marie-Pierre Fabre

  • logo du partenaire

  •  

Atelier Méta 2 is a venue for artistic creation located at the heart of the Saint-Mauront neighbourhood in Marseille’s 3rd district. As a team of visual artists and artistic animators, Méta 2 has specialised in different approaches to monumental art and design of public spaces, places of passage, non-places, and zones of encounter between passers-by since 1999.

The artistic style of Atelier Méta 2 is focused on monumental art and urban art: the format of their works of art, inserted into the public space, is designed to startle passers-by, injecting colour to the city with the help of different forms and materials (paint, mosaics, coloured concrete, sculptures etc.). Pulling such pieces out of the context usually reserved for art in its traditional forms enables interaction with the social, geographical, political and aesthetic environment.

“The Passage: A Trail of Experiences” is a creative urban art project, aiming to involve young, local inhabitants of the Cité Félix Pyat housing project in the urban rehabilitation and design of the Bougainville Park located at the heart of the neighbourhood, via the creation of a monumental fresco on a building wall. For 12 months, young people from the neighbourhood will work together on a collective design project, accompanied by various artists and professionals (welders, mosaicists, journalists, sociologists etc.). They will trace the history of their neighbourhood, putting into question past and future urban transformations. Asking the inhabitants about their vision of the rehabilitation project will enable them to get involved in the transformation of the territory, and imagine the city of the future. They will learn artistic techniques from professional artists, with the aim of creating a monumental fresco. The work will welcome influences from various cultural backgrounds and local issues, in the framework of a collective creation.

“The Passage” is built around an approach of social accompaniment targeting young people, in order to implement a professional project based on linking art with the specific social challenges of the chosen location.

With Aurélie Masset currently at the head of the team, Méta 2 continues to search for artistic forms of interaction with the neighbourhood and its inhabitants, built on sharing and transmission.

The Compagnie Fruitière Fund participates in this project involving 6 young persons from the neighbourhood, who will create a monumental fresco on one of the building walls. Throughout the duration of the project (1 year), they will learn numerous techniques (welding, painting, mosaic etc.). Simultaneously, they will be expected to participate in training and insertion measures with employment agencies such as Mission Locale, Pôle Emploi, ADDAP 13 etc. The project will finish with a discovery trip to London, where the participants will meet with a META 2 partner artistic team.

https://www.meta2.fr/

Photo credits ©Jean Yves Delattre

Partenariats

Atelier Meta 2

Marseille
2019

Le Fonds Compagnie Fruitière s’associe en 2019 à l’Atelier Meta 2, lieu de création artistique, situé au cœur du quartier Saint-Mauront dans le 3ème arrondissement de Marseille. Composé d’une équipe d’artistes plasticiens et d’animateurs artistiques, Méta 2 se spécialise depuis 1999 dans l’art monumental et l’aménagement d’espaces publics, lieux de passage, non-lieux, en zones de rencontres entre les usagers par différentes approches.

  • Référent Projet

    Marie-Pierre Fabre

  • logo du partenaire

  •  

L’Atelier Méta 2 est un lieu de création artistique situé au cœur du quartier Saint-Mauront dans le 3ème arrondissement de Marseille. Composé d’une équipe d’artistes plasticiens et d’animateurs artistiques, Méta 2 se spécialise depuis 1999 dans l’art monumental et l’aménagement d’espaces publics, lieux de passage, non-lieux, en zones de rencontres entre les usagers par différentes approches.

Le style des artistes de l’Atelier Méta 2 s’apparente à l’art monumental et l’art urbain : leurs œuvres s’imposent dans l’espace public par un format qui interpelle le citadin, investissent la ville par la couleur, sous différentes formes et matériaux (peinture, mosaïque, béton coloré, sculptures…). Elles s’extraient des lieux de l’art et de ses formes traditionnelles pour interagir sur un environnement social, géographique, politique et esthétique.

« Le passage : parcours d’expériences » est un projet de création artistique qui s’apparente à l’art urbain. Le projet implique les jeunes habitants dans le programme de rénovation urbaine et d’aménagement du parc Bougainville à travers la réalisation d’une fresque monumentale sur un pignon d’un bâtiment de la Cité Félix Pyat situé au cœur de ce programme urbain. Pendant 12 mois des jeunes, issus du quartier, vont travailler autour d’une création collective, accompagnés par différents artistes et intervenants (soudeur, mosaïste, journalistes, sociologue …). Ils vont retracer, questionner l’histoire de leur quartier et appréhender les transformations urbanistiques passées et futures. En interrogeant les habitants sur leur vision du projet de rénovation, ils vont s’emparer des enjeux de transformation du territoire pour imaginer la ville du futur. En se formant avec des artistes professionnels aux techniques artistiques, ils vont concevoir une fresque monumentale.. Cette réalisation sera composée d’influences convoquant les cultures d’origines, les enjeux du territoire au sein d’une création collective.

Le projet Le Passage se construit autour d’un dispositif d’accompagnement social des jeunes et qui vise la construction d’un projet professionnel à travers cette expérience qui lie l’art aux problématiques spécifiques du territoire investi.

Aujourd’hui sous la direction artistique d’Aurélie Masset, l’équipe de l’atelier Méta 2 poursuit cette recherche d’une forme d’art en interaction avec la cité et ses habitants, érigée autour des valeurs de partage et de transmission.

Le Fonds Compagnie Fruitière participe à un projet qui fédère 6 jeunes du quartier pour créer une fresque monumentale sur une barre d’immeuble. Tout au long du cursus (1 an), ils seront initiés à de nombreuses techniques (soudure, peinture, mosaïque…), seront engagés à se qualifier (mission locale, pole emploi, ADDAP 13, etc…), et finiront par un voyage découverte à Londres où ils rencontreront une équipe artistique partenaire de META 2.

https://www.meta2.fr/

Crédit photo ©Jean Yves Delattre