News

Partnership with the Michel Lafon Education publishing house

Ivory Coast, Ghana, Cameroon, Senegal
2013

The books « Bouba and Zaza » stemming from the collection « Childhood Cultures » teach and disseminate awareness messages. « Bouba and Zaza – Childhood Cultures » is brought together within a partnership between Unesco and the Association for the Development of Education in Africa (ADEA). The books are designed for the cultures of particular countries and are orientated towards civic values. They are created for young children, but are also a very good aid for educators and families. The collection does not shy from dealing with serious themes even though the audience is of a young age. This daring collection approaches sensitive themes such as the environment, illiteracy, girl’s education or AIDS with the purpose of breaking taboos and bringing awareness to children. A dozen themes were chosen by the Compagnie Fruitière Endowment Fund, for example « Bouba and Zaza respect water », « Bouba and Zaza cultivate peace », « Bouba and Zaza know how to say no ». This is practical learning through universal values.

  • Partners

    Unesco & ADEA

  • Project Lead

    Paul Bouzon

  • logo du partenaire

  • “Bouba and Zaza – Childhood Cultures” is brought together within a partnership between Unesco and the Association for the Development of Education in Africa (ADEA).

  • The arrival of these books is considered a precious gift.

THE COMPAGNIE FRUITIÈRE ENDOWMENT FUND IS COMMITTED TO THE LAFON-EDUCATION PUBLISHING HOUSE

In 2013, the Compagnie Fruitière Endowment Fund committed to the Lafon-Education publishing house to provide awareness books in schools within the Compagnie Fruitière plantations’ vicinity. Almost 6000 educational books from the collection Bouba and Zaza were distributed across Cameroon, Senegal, Côte d’Ivoire and Ghana sites. The shipping line of the company ensured their transportation without any charge.

THE DISTRIBUTION OF A COLLECTION OF FICTION BOOKS FOR THE PURPOSE OF CIVIC AND MORAL EDUCATION

Civic education is made crosscutting and grounded in the daily life of the children with the help of these books. It is practical learning. The collection doesn’t hesitate to deal with serious subjects even though the audience is of a young age (AIDS, violence, sexual abuse, disability, etc.) The fictional narrative catches the children’s attention. The head principal of the Tisserins school located on the PHP plantation, tells us how she feels about this distribution: “Bouba and Zaza are like a vaccine against ignorance, … the children learn the “know how”, the “know-how-to-be” and manners”.

BOUBA and ZAZA are awareness tools or school books addressing social issues

Certain populations consider a new book as being a precious gift

BOUBA and ZAZA is available in several languages and is aimed to deal with issues that are important for each culture

Distribution is carried out in schools in Ghana, Senegal, the Ivory Coast and Cameroon

Actualités

Partenariat avec les éditions Michel Lafon Éducation

Côte d’Ivoire, Ghana, Cameroun, Sénégal
2013

Les ouvrages « Bouba et Zaza » de la collection « Cultures d’Enfances » apprennent et sensibilisent. « Bouba et Zaza – Cultures d’enfances » est réalisé en partenariat avec l’Unesco et l’Association pour le Développement de l’Éducation en Afrique (ADEA). Ils sont adaptés aux cultures des pays concernés et orientent vers des valeurs civiques. Ils sont destinés aux petits enfants, et sont en même temps un très bon outil pour les éducateurs, voire même pour les familles. La collection n’hésite pas à aborder des thèmes graves malgré la jeunesse du public. Audacieuse, elle aborde des thèmes sensibles comme l’environnement, l’illettrisme, l’éducation des filles ou le SIDA pour rompre les tabous et sensibiliser les enfants. Une douzaine de thèmes avaient été choisis par le Fonds De Dotation Compagnie Fruitière, comme par exemple: « Bouba et Zaza respectent l’eau », « Bouba et Zaza cultivent la paix », « Bouba et Zaza savent dire non ». Il s’agit d’un apprentissage pragmatique présentant des valeurs universelles.

  • Partenaires

    Unesco & ADEA

  • Référent Projet

    Paul Bouzon

  • logo du partenaire

  • « Bouba et Zaza – Cultures d’enfances » est réalisé en partenariat avec l’Unesco et l’Association pour le Développement de l’Éducation en Afrique (ADEA). 

  • L’arrivée de ces livres a été considérée comme un don précieux. 

UN ENGAGEMENT DE LA PART DU FONDS DE DOTATION COMPAGNIE FRUITIÈRE AUPRÈS DE L’ÉDITEUR LAFON-ÉDUCATION  

En 2013, le Fonds de Dotation Compagnie Fruitière s’est engagé auprès des Éditions Lafon-Éducation pour fournir des ouvrages de sensibilisation aux écoles proches des plantations de la Compagnie Fruitière, ou en périphérie. Près de 6000 livres éducatifs de la collection Bouba et Zaza ont été distribués sur l’ensemble de ces sites : Cameroun, Sénégal, Côte d’Ivoire et Ghana. Leur transport a été effectué [gratuitement] par les lignes maritimes du groupe.  

LA DISTRIBUTION D’UNE COLLECTION DE LIVRES DE FICTION AU SERVICE DE L’ÉDUCATION CIVIQUE ET MORALE  

Ces ouvrages font de l’éducation civique un enseignement transversal ancré dans la vie quotidienne des enfants. Il s’agit d’un apprentissage pragmatique. La collection n’hésite pas à aborder des thèmes graves malgré la jeunesse du public (sida, violences et abus sexuels, handicaps, etc.). Cependant, la fiction permet de capter l’attention des enfants.  La directrice des Tisserins, groupe scolaire présent sur les plantations de la PHP, nous donne son sentiment sur cette distribution: « Bouba et Zaza sont comme le vaccin de l’ignorance,… les enfants y apprennent le « savoir-faire », le « savoir-être », et le « savoir-vivre » ». Le « livre neuf » est un objet d’une grande valeur dans certains pays. L’arrivée de ces livres a été considérée comme un don précieux.

BOUBA et ZAZA sont des outils de sensibilisation à des sujets de société, ou des livres scolaires

Un livre neuf est un don précieux pour certaines populations

BOUBA et ZAZA est disponible en plusieurs langues et s’oriente très précisément sur des sujets propres à chaque société

Une distribution faite dans des écoles au Ghana, Sénégual, Côte d’Ivoire et Cameroun