Partnerships

The Raoul Follereau Foundation

RDC
2019

As a result of its particular interest in African health issues, the Compagnie Fruitière Fund has entered into a cooperation with the Raoul Follereau Foundation in 2019, in the context of a project on participatory subsistence farming in the Democratic Republic of Congo.

  • Référent Projet

    Marie-Pierre Fabre

  • logo du partenaire

  •  

Project Presentation

The Malnutrition Health Centre located in the North-eastern part of the Democratic Republic of Congo serves as a reception point for numerous families arriving from the troubled areas in the North. Upon arrival, these families do not have any means for survival: no land to cultivate, and no local work available. In general, the children of such families are malnourished and in bad health.

The health centre’s team provides treatment to restore the health of these children, who are often very young. Two consultations per month are offered, as well as weekly distribution of enriched flour for all children of a given family.

To mitigate the lack of nutrition for these families, a participatory subsistence farming project was introduced earlier this year, with a participation of about 80 women. A piece of land was rented from the neighbouring diocese, and the project is supervised and animated by an agronomist and a nutritionist. The mothers of the affected children are thus able to grow vegetables, with a long-term prospect of producing varied and balanced food.

The Raoul Follereau Foundation

The Foundation puts human beings at the heart of its projects, without regard to origin or religion, favouring sustainable actions to provide care, education and facilitate reinsertion. The Foundation combats all forms of exclusion caused by illness, poverty or ignorance. It labours for the mobilisation of a truly generous community, associating donors, partners and volunteers, for a just and more human world.

photo credit : Fondation Raoul Follereau.

Partenariats

Fondation Raoul Follereau

RDC
2020

Le Fonds de dotation Compagnie Fruitière s’est engagé à accompagner les initiatives de la Fondation Raoul Follereau en République démocratique du Congo. Depuis 2019, il finance le Centre de santé malnutrition Matumaini qui accueillent les jeunes enfants malnutris et de leurs familles.

  • Référent Projet

    Christelle Lasme

  • logo du partenaire

  •  

Présentation du projet

Le centre de santé – malnutrition situé au nord-est de la République démocratique du Congo est un point d’accueil pour de nombreuse familles qui arrivent des zones de turbulence au nord de ce pays. Ces familles arrivent et n’ont aucun moyen de subsistance : pas de terre à cultiver, pas de travail ouvrier localement. Les enfants de ces familles sont en général malnutris et en mauvaise santé.

L’équipe du centre leur propose un suivi pour essayer de rétablir la santé de ces enfants souvent en bas âge. Deux consultations par mois sont mises en place ainsi qu’une distribution hebdomadaire de ration de farine enrichie pour toute la fratrie.

Pour pallier le manque de nourriture de ces familles, un projet de maraichage participatif a été mis en place cette année (participation d’environ 80 femmes). Un terrain a été loué au diocèse jouxtant le centre, et encadrées et animées par un agronome et un nutritionniste, les mères de ces enfants ont la possibilité de cultiver des légumes avec à terme l’espoir d’avoir une  nourriture variée et équilibrée.

La Fondation Raoul Follereau

En plaçant l’homme sans distinction d’origine ou de religion, au cœur de ses projets et en privilégiant les actions en profondeur visant à soigner, éduquer et réinsérer, la Fondation lutte contre toute forme d’exclusion causée par la maladie, la pauvreté ou l’ignorance. Elle œuvre à la mobilisation d’une véritable communauté de générosité qui associe donateurs, partenaires et bénévoles pour un monde plus juste et plus humain.

Crédits photos Fondation Raoul Follereau.